Shorter menu when watching site on mobile

Rate this topic: Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.Evaluations: 0, 0.00 on the average.
GK User
Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:33 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
H,

Is it possible to show a shorter menu with less items when watching the site on a mobile phone?

Kind regards,
GertJan
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Sun Mar 10, 2013 1:47 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

Yes You can select a different menu for mobile in template configuration.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:57 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
teitbite wrote:Hi

Yes You can select a different menu for mobile in template configuration.


Can you tell me exactly where?
I can't seem to find it.... there's a menu-tab but there I can only select one menu (main menu) but I see no option to select something different for mobile devices.
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Mon Mar 11, 2013 4:34 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

Yes You're right. Such option was available with non-responsive templates. I've just looked in wrong template while writing an answer. In this case You can still disable some links with using GK Menu Extra plugin and it's functinality to add class suffixes for menu elements. Than simply add a suffix called "nomobile" to the elements You would like to hide.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Mar 12, 2013 9:40 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
teitbite wrote:Hi

Yes You're right. Such option was available with non-responsive templates. I've just looked in wrong template while writing an answer. In this case You can still disable some links with using GK Menu Extra plugin and it's functinality to add class suffixes for menu elements. Than simply add a suffix called "nomobile" to the elements You would like to hide.


Hi,

Thanks for the reply. I will try this and let you know if this is the solution for me but I think it will be :)

Kind regards, GertJan
User avatar
Gold Boarder

GK User
Tue Mar 12, 2013 9:50 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
I tried it directly but it does not work.

If I put nomobile in the menu item the item also dissapears from my normal website.
Did I enter it correctly? See screenshot below.

Image
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Tue Mar 12, 2013 12:52 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

Yes it's correct. Please show me Your site now so I'll see what is wrong.

Also please add this code to override.css and remember to allow using this file in template settings:

Code: Select all
/* tablet/mobile suffixes */
.notablet {
    display: block;
}
.nomobile {
    display: block;
}
.onlytablet {
    display: block;
}
.onlymobile {
    display: block;
}

@media only screen and (min-width:720px) and (max-width: 985px) {
.onlytablet {
    display: block;
}

.notablet {
    display: none;
}
}

@media only screen and (max-width:719px) {
.nomobile {
    display: none;
}

.onlymobile {
    display: block;
}
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:08 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Added the code to override.css

But still no change > http://178.18.89.213/~madonna/

If you go to Madonna, Biografie..
On the site you see 2012 as the first item.
I have added ' nomobile' to this item but I still see it on my iphone.
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Wed Mar 13, 2013 3:21 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

Acctualy this element is removed, but in a different menu system :) In one which got disabled and replaced with a dropdown which is not supporting suffixes.

There is a long shot to check but maybe it will work:

Code: Select all
otpion[value="/~madonna/index.php/madonna/biografie/2012/"] {
display: none;
}


please try it. If this will not work than I can modifie the menu to accept class suffixes in this view.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Fri Mar 15, 2013 2:26 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi again!

Where do I put the last piece of code?
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Sat Mar 16, 2013 1:42 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

This still should go into the override.css but I've made a typo, should be "option" instead of "otpion". Sorry.
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:57 am
Reply with quote
Report this post
teitbite wrote:Hi

This still should go into the override.css but I've made a typo, should be "option" instead of "otpion". Sorry.



:( it's still not working....
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:04 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

It was just a guess anyway. Got another idea. Try this code:

Code: Select all
#gkMobileMenu select option:nth-child(10) {
display: none;
}
User avatar
Moderator

GK User
Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:59 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
teitbite wrote:Hi

It was just a guess anyway. Got another idea. Try this code:

Code: Select all
#gkMobileMenu select option:nth-child(10) {
display: none;
}

Hi!

Thanks for the efforts... this code is also not working.
User avatar
Gold Boarder

teitbite
Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:49 pm
Reply with quote
Report this post
Hi

Are You sure it's not working ? Biography option is not there anymore :)
User avatar
Moderator


cron