How to Configure for Mobile?

October 08 Joomla Templates
GK User
Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:38 am
I could not find any posts on this subject so I will start one. I am fairly new to Gavick, but not to Joomla. I discovered Gavick a few months ago and love the incredible power of the templates and extensions. Documentation is usually pretty sparse, but adequate enough to nudge me in the right direction.

But I do not see how to set up the mobile options in The News II.

I had thought that I would find module positions for mobile devices and basically set up a totally new layout that only uses mobile positions. But I only see two mobile module positions (mobile_top and mobile_bottom). I must be missing something here - can someone point me in the right direction?

and what is a facebook layout?
Junior Boarder

GK User
Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:13 pm
Hi,

You can find layout files under folder \templates\gk_twn2\layouts\ to customize.

Facebook layout is used for Facebook Bot that crawls your site content for sharing feature.
Platinum Boarder

GK User
Thu Dec 22, 2011 2:02 pm
Thank you for the quick response! I found the layout files and after reviewing I believe that I understand how your mobile system works.

If I read it correctly, the template provides for mobile formatting by providing a mobile logo, menu, header and footer. To use the template as published without modifications to the layout file, you publish your mobile header and footer modules (mobile_top and mobile_bottom), provide a suitable logo image for mobile and either select or create a menu to be used for mobile. You can create pages which are intended only for mobile that are only viewable through the unique mobile menu. This provides mobile compatibility without mods.

To provide a more customized appearance, you can use the layout files in the \templates\gk_twn2\layouts\ folder.